The Devonport Regional Gallery is currently situated in a re-purposed Baptist Church. It is a stunning building complimented by engaging exhibitions, programs and events. However, we have outgrown the building and next year we will say ‘farewell’ to Stewart Street when we relocate to Rooke Street.
The new location is yet another old building, the former Devonport Court House. The Court House was opened in 1903 and has undergone both minor and major alterations and additions since that time from 1939 to 2000. Birelli Architects have determined to remove several of these additions to the building in order to revitalise and expose many of the original features and combine them with contemporary materials to create the new galleries. The two-story building will house a ‘touring’ gallery downstairs, and a ‘collection’ gallery upstairs. The smaller upstairs gallery will be used for emerging Tasmanian artists exhibitions and exhibitions of children’s artwork. Work on the new gallery is due to be completed by mid 2018. Other areas will house education and public programs, a gallery shop, offices and a curatorial work space.
As work commences on the new gallery, we will post regular updates and photographs. Meanwhile, exhibitions and related programs will continue to be presented in the current building until the relocation in 2018. Currently we are hosting the 2017 DRG Solo Commission by Troy Ruffels, ‘Between Fire and Flood’ which continues until Sunday 22 October.
Ellie Ray, Gallery Director