Devonport Regional Gallery

Tidal 06

Tidal 06

Exhibition Dates: Friday 1 December, 2006 – Sunday January, 2007

Artists: Simon Cuthbert, Jim Everett & Jonathan Kimberley, Farrell & Parkin, Lisa Garland, Julie Gough, Junko Go, Helga Groves, Neil Haddon, David Hawley, Joy Hirst, Megan Keating, Dave Kelly, Cassandra Laing, Vera Möller, Michael Muruste, James Newitt, Christopher Pyett, Valerie Sparks, David Warren and Michael Schlitz

Tidal 06 was an exhibition of selected finalists who entered the Tidal: City of Devonport Art Award. The biennial Award was open nationally to artists whose work addressed our contemporary relationship to the sea and coastal regions.

The Award was judged by Dr Gerard Vaughan, Director of the National Gallery of Victoria; Daniel Thomas, emeritus Director of the Art Gallery of South Australia; and Bea Maddock, renowned Tasmanian artist.

The winner of the $10,000 Major Award was Neil Haddon for the painting Survivor (del flynn gyp tink). James Newitt was the recipient of the $3,000 Tasmanian Artist Award for the DVD Arberg Bay. These awards were fully funded by the Devonport City Council.

Tidal 06, Catalogue