Devonport Regional Gallery

Tidal 12

Tidal 12

Exhibition Dates: 7 December 2012 – 27 January 2013

The Tidal: City of Devonport Art Award is a biennial award, exhibited every two years at the Devonport Regional Gallery. Artists residing in Australia are invited to submit two-dimensional artworks that respond to the theme of ‘tidal’ – the natural, cultural, personal or political concerns related to the sea, coastal regions and coastal communities.

The acquisitive Award, valued at $15,000, is sponsored by the Devonport City Council and the Friends Committee of the Devonport Regional Gallery. This years Peoples’ Choice Award, valued at $1000, is sponsored by Collins Real Estate and will be announced in the final week of the exhibition in January 2013 when all votes have been counted.

$15,000 Major Award Recipient: Paul Snell

Judges Commendations: Lisa Garland and Joanna Gair

Judges: Humprey Clegg, Assistant Curator, Australian Art, National Gallery of Victoria and Craig Judd, Independent Curator and Arts Writer

Finalists: Justin Cooper, Josh Foley, Joanna Gair, Lisa Garland, Grace Gladdish, David Hawley, Liam James, Dena Kahan, Alicia King, Nerissa Lea, Carol Maney, Anne Morrison, David Murphy, Michael Muruste, Mike Nicholls, Robin Petterd, William Rhodes, Graham Sanders, George Shaw, Paul Snell, Ulrich Stalph, Anne Starling, James Tapscott, Margaret Ellen Turner, Judy Watson, Peter Whyte, Katy Woodroffe
Tidal 12 Catalogue

Image: Paul Snell, Elliptic # 201201, 2012, Metallic lambda print. 2012 Tidal Recipient
Image: Joanna Gair, Watermark Don River, 2012, Papers handmade by the artist
2012 Judges Commendation
Image: Lisa Garland, Musician, Fisherman, Aboriginal, Fred and Thylacine Hunter, 2012, Silver gelatin print. 2012 Judges Commendation